73082 Camelot is one of a total of 172 British Railways Standard Class Five 4-6-0s which were built at Derby and Doncaster Works over a six year period from 1951. Twenty of these locomotives, including 73082 (then un-named), were allocated to the Southern
Region from new, in two batches of ten. The first batch consisted of locomotives 73080-89, built at Derby, and paired with BR1B tenders. They entered service from Stewarts Lane between June and September 1955, 73082 entering traffic in June.
BR Standards were put to work on the Kent Coast line and on Dover and Folkestone boat trains. They continued on this work until the Kent Coast electrification scheme was completed in 1959, when they were transferred to Nine Elms. This had been the first depot
to which the second batch of Southern Standard Fives, 73110-19, had been allocated when new. At this time a Staff Suggestion put forward the idea of transferring the names from withdrawn Urie King Arthur class 4-6-0s 30736-55 to the newer engines. 73082 duly
received the name Camelot, formerly carried by 30742, in August 1959. With the onset of dieselisation and the Bournemouth electrification the Standard Fives became scattered around the South Western Division, Camelot moving to Guildford in 1965 and withdrawal
from there followed on 19 June 1966. After storage at Eastleigh, Camelot was bought by Woodham Bros in November 1966 and moved to the now famous yard at Barry, South Wales.
In 1974 a visitor to Barry realised that she was unique, being the only surviving
named Standard Five and, to secure her future, the 73082 Camelot Locomotive Society was formed with the aim of buying Camelot and restoring her to working order